Book Review: A Sweet Misfortune

9780800722654

I recently finished reading A Sweet Misfortune by Maggie Brendan. Unfortunately, I felt that is was not a sweet misfortune that I read this book. To be quite blunt, it had no plot. Now, I love a good western and a good romance as much as the next person, but this one had no substance at all. While it was mildly entertaining, it was also chock full of moments that–rather than be endearing–just caused me to roll my eyes. For example, while thinking of her brother, Rachel has this thought:

“She wished he’d [her brother] been the one to rescue her instead of the cowboy with the brooding eyes. She could get lost in them if she wasn’t careful.”

This was only at the close of the third chapter! The main characters had barely had more than two or three interactions! I personally found it hard to believe, which is not what you want when you are reading a novel–unless of course it’s about aliens or something. While most romances are pretty clear in their outcomes, this one just felt forced and emotionless. There was no hurdle for the main couple to overcome (except perhaps their own stubbornness), and I felt that this story was almost too simple. It would have been more believable if there had been some significant conflict. Also, the other “suitors” for both main characters were really unnecessary and could have been left out without affecting the story. Overall, this was just not a book worth reading. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for my fair and honest review.

Leave a Reply

