Book Review: To Follow Her Heart

I recently had the opportunity to read To Follow Her Hear by Rebecca DeMarino. Unfortunately, this book was not my cup of tea, and I did not end up finishing it. I found it to be way too wordy and descriptive. The first few chapters focused on mostly domestic activities, which I frankly have no desire to read. I cannot speak to the quality of the actual story, as the descriptive narrative was too much of a road block for me as a reader. Perhaps if you enjoy a lot of detail in your world building, then give this book a try. Otherwise, you might be better off skipping this one. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for my fair and honest review.

P.S. Also, can we take a moment to appreciate how entirely awful this cover is? The gentleman on the cover looks hilariously disturbed with the maiden in his arms.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: To Follow Her Heart

  1. I agree. The book cover is pretty awful. Somewhat off-putting, really.

    It sucks you didn’t enjoy this one, but I totally get where you’re coming from. I’m not a fan of overly descriptive writing styles as well as they effectively slow down the pace of the story to an almost sluggish torture. I probably won’t give this one a try either. Still, nice review! Here’s to hopefully better reads in the future!

    Like

    • One of the unavoidable disappointments of reading is that not every book garners 5 stars. However, taste in writing styles is just that–a matter of taste. Perhaps this book will have its moment in the sun with some other reader. It just won’t be me. 😉 Thanks for your comment!

      xo,

      Alannie

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

