Book Review: Waves of Mercy

 

I recently finished reading Waves of Mercy by Lynn Austin. This is a charming novel set on the beautiful coast of Lake Michigan, an idyllic setting that I have personally experienced and enjoyed. I can vouch for the accuracy and genuine charm that Austin has portrayed, and it served as an excellent setting for this particular story. While not my favorite of Austin’s works, Waves of Mercy does have a thoroughly gripping storyline, and I greatly anticipated the resolution of the story. The characters were interesting, and I felt invested in their lives. The main problems I had with this story were merely a matter of personal taste. I am not a huge fan of family drama, and I was unaware that this would be the main focus of the story. Also, I found the “mystery” to be too easily solved (and I hesitate to say mystery, because it seemed so obvious to me). My final qualm with this story was the utilization of romance. Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoy romantic storylines. However, in this instance, I felt like it was a cheap throw away meant to tease readers and then be casually tossed aside without further consideration. Overall, a decent story, but not executed in a manner that aligned with my tastes. I received this book from the publisher, and I was in no way required to provide a positive review. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

