Book Review: The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill

 

I recently finished reading The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill by Julie Klassen. This was such an excellent story! I’ve always adored novels with an ensemble cast of characters, and The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill hits the nail on the head in that department! I adored every one of the characters, and I felt that they all added something to the story. Normally I’m a little wary of series, as I find that the stories they exhibit can often be aptly told in one novel, However, in this instance, I found that I couldn’t get enough of the people of Ivy Hill! I felt myself rooting for their success and sharing in their sorrows at every turn, a sign of excellent story telling on the part of Julie Klassen. The quirkiness of the town and the beautiful setting brought to mind gems such as Cranford and North and South. I really enjoyed interacting with all the individual storylines, and I can’t wait to see how things turn out in the following installments! Overall, an excellent and worthwhile read for fans of Elizabeth Gaskell and Jane Austen that I could not recommend more! I received this novel from the publisher, but I was in no way required to give a positive review. All opinions are my own.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s