Book Review: Behind the Scenes

Cover Art

 

I recently finished reading Behind the Scenes by Jen Turano. This book was extremely fast-paced in the dialogue department. I’m talking banter like you wouldn’t believe! Normally, I’m a huge fan of witty back and forth, but I think this was a little over the top. The dialogue most of the time didn’t really do anything to drive the story forward, and I found myself skipping over some parts because I was getting tired of reading their constant ribbing. The story had an interesting premise, however, which is why I continued with it. However, I didn’t feel like the central conflict made sense, nor did I feel that the villain was intimidating. This is partially because it came completely out of left field with not a whole lot of build up. It felt cheap and underdeveloped.

Permilia’s side job as a journalist was underplayed and discarded pretty early on in the story. From the publisher’s description, I was under the impression that her status as a journalist/wallflower would hold more bearing for the story. Ultimately, it did not play that big of a role, and was quickly scrapped in favor of focusing on the two main characters “witty” repartee. This near endless stream-of-consciousness-like dialogue probably would not have been such a negative thing for me if I felt that the characters had a real connection.

All in all, I felt there was too much going on in this story to be truly enjoyable. Everything that happened came across as trite and over the top, whether it was story, dialogue, or character dynamic. While I have enjoyed Jen Turano’s work in the past, this is not one that will be sticking around on my shelves for long. I received this book from the publisher, but I was in no way required to leave a positive review. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

