Book Review: A Name Unknown

I recently finished reading A Name Unknown by Roseanna M. White.

Oh, Rosemary, Rosemary, Rosemary, you sweet summer child. You had no idea what you were getting yourself into. Bless her heart. 😉

I really enjoyed this novel. It has been a *while* since I enjoyed an inspirational romance this much. I know, I know. I am a tad bit critical, true, but still. Most novels in the genre these days have been, frankly, boring. I was starting to wonder if maybe it was time to move on to other things. (Grass is always greener, am I right?)

When I saw that the author was organizing a blogger/influencer team (thank you Roseanna!), I thought to myself, “What the hay? Who will it hurt? Maybe me, but whatever. Looks interesting.” Man, was I in for a ride!

They say that the best things in life are worth the wait. Who “they” are, I have no idea, but it’s true nonetheless. I waited a hot minute to get this book, but when it came, I devoured it like a starving child. I never knew I needed something this light and carefree yet also dark and deep and thought provoking. (You’re probably thinking, “Dark and deep and thought provoking in a romance novel? Really, Alannie?” Sweetie, you must be new here.) This book was everything I wanted and more. It completely exceeded my expectations.

Roseanna definitely has a skill for writing quality characters. Every single character (even background characters so deeply shrouded in obscurity) was excellently crafted. The heroine and hero were a perfect match, and I found their interactions to be the highlight of the novel. Rosemary was completely adorable, but Peter was a freaking gem. He’s so completely oblivious yet endearing that it made me grin and blush like Sailor Moon. Needless to say, I was smitten.

Besides the actual characters themselves, I also found the character arcs to be flawless. Rosemary’s journey in particular was especially well done, and I felt like her journey to faith was a genuine and heartfelt experience. Some of you long-time readers may know how important this aspect is to me. In fact, it can often make or break a novel in this inspirational genre that I have a love/hate relationship with. Needless to say, I was very pleased with how things turned out in this story. For the first time in a while, I’m excited to see what the other novels in this series turn out to be. Hopefully as fun and spellbinding as this first one!

I received this book from the author, but I was in no way required to give a positive review. All opinions are my own.

 

Leave a Reply

